Primeira Liga Winners & Runners-up List | TV Channels

Primeira Liga Winners & Runners-up List | TV Channels

The Primeira Liga (Liga Portugal Bwin) is a high-profile Portuguese Football league formulated by Liga Portugal in 1934. Over the years, the league has undergone several reforms; as in earlier times, the club followed the knock-out cup format. Afterward, it became a round-robin then the league operated on a promotion and relegation system instead of a qualifying system.

Primeira Liga Winners & Runners-up List | TV Channels

How good is the Liga Portugal?

Primeira Liga officially occupies the sixth place in UEFA’s national league ranking & is also ranked fourth according to IFFHS’s 2011 ranking.

How many teams are currently competing in Primeira Liga?

Eighteen teams are currently participating in the Primeira Liga league & their names are mentioned below.

  • Arouca
  • Vizela
  • Belenenses SAD
  • Benfica
  • Estroril
  • Boavista
  • Braga
  • Famalicão
  • Gil Vicente
  • Maritimo
  • Moreirense
  • Paços de Ferreira
  • Porto
  • Santa Clara
  • Portimonense
  • Sporting CP
  • Tondela
  • Vitória de Guimarães

Read More: Major League Soccer (MLS) 2022-23 Schedule

Which team has won the most titles in Primeira Liga since its inception?

Benfica is the team that has had 37 titles since the initial season.

Where can I watch Primeira Liga 2022-23 matches?

You can watch matches of Liga Portugal on the channels listed below;

PortugalSport TV
AustriaSportdigital DAZN
CanadaGOLTV Play
JapanSKY PerfecTV
TurkeyS Sport
United KingdomFreeSports
United StatesGOLTV


In this article, I have written a brief history of Primeira Liga & the names of clubs are also mentioned. The article also covers the channels where you can watch Primeira Liga matches, the facts file & figures, winners & runners-up, schedule & fixtures.

PrimeiraLiga – Facts File & Figures:

EventPrimeira Liga
No. of teams18
Domestic CupsTaça de Portugal & Supertaça
International CupsUEFA Europa League, UEFA Champions League & UEFA Europa Conference League
Most Successful TeamBenfica  (37 titles)
Recent ChampionPorto (2021-22)
Top goalscorerFernando Peyroteo (332)

Primeira Liga Winners & Runners-up Over years:

Approximately 70 teams have competed in Primeira Liga since its inaugural season, but only five clubs have become champions.

Sporting CP1922
Vitória de Setúbal01

Primeira Liga 2022-23- Schedule, Fixture, Date & Team:

DateTeam 1Team 2
06 August 2022BenficaArouca
06 August 2022Rio AveVizela
06 August 2022Estoril PraiaFamalicao
07 August 2022MaritimePorto
07 August 2022Casa PiaSanta Clara
07 August 2022BragaSporting
08 August 2022ChavesVitoria SC
08 August 2022PortimonenseBoavista
09 August 2022Pacos FerreiraGil Vicente


The Primeira Liga, founded in 1934, has evolved from a knock-out format to its present round-robin with a promotion and relegation system. As one of Europe’s premier leagues, it ranks sixth in UEFA and fourth in IFFHS’s 2011 standings. Featuring 18 competitive teams with Benfica leading in titles, fans can enjoy its matches through specified broadcasting channels.