Eredivisie Football League Winners & Runners -Up List

Eredivisie Football League Winners & Runners -Up List

The Eredivisie is a high-profile football league organized by Royal Dutch Football Association & founded in 1956. Eredivisie is considered one of the best European leagues, winning domestic (KNVB Cup, Johan Cruyff Shield) and international cups (UEFA Europa League, UEFA Champions League & UEFA Europa Conference League).

Eredivisie Football League Winners & Runners -Up List

Which team has been the most successful in Eredivisie since its inaugural edition?

Ajax is number one with 36 titles since the league’s inception & also crowned the championship in a recent edition (2021-22). 

When does the Eredivisie 2022-23 edition start?

The 2022-23 Eredivisie began on 5 August 2022 and will run till 28 May 2023.

How many clubs are currently participating in Eredivisie?

A total of 18 teams are currently featuring in Eredivisie leagues & their names are mentioned below.

  • Ajax
  • AZ
  • Cambuur
  • FFC Emmen
  • Excelsior
  • Feyenoord
  • Fortuna Sittard
  • Go Ahead Eagles
  • FC Groningen
  • SC Heerenveen
  • NEC
  • PSV
  • RKC Waalwijk
  • Sparta Rotterdam
  • FC Twente
  • FC Utrecht
  • Vitesse
  • FC Volendam

Competition Format:

Each of the 18 clubs plays twice against each other in a home and away stadium that operates on a promotion and relegation system. When the season ends, two clubs are relegated to the First Division (Eerste Divisie), while the winner and runner-up automatically qualify for the next edition of Eredivisie. Champion of the Eredivisie achieves the Dutch National Championship.

Eredvisie – Facts File & Figures:

No. of teams18
Domestic CupsKNVB Cup Johan Cruyff Shield
International CupsUEFA Europa League, UEFA Champions League & UEFA Europa Conference League
Most Successful TeamAjex  (36 titles)
Recent ChampionAjex
Top goalscorerWilly Van der Kuijlen (311)

Eredvisie- Champions & Runners-up over the years:

PSV Eindhoven2416
HVV Den Haag101
Sparta Rotterdam6
Go Ahead Eagles45
Koninklijke HFC33
Willem II31
HBS Craeyenhout3
Heracles Almelo21
ADO Den Haag2
NAC Breda14
FC Twente13
Roda JC Kerkrade12
FC Eindhoven12
SC Enschede12
FC Den Bosch11
De Volewijckers11
HFC Haarlem1
Quick Den Haag1
VV Concordia1
Be Quick12

Eredvisie 2022-23 Schedule, Fixture & Teams:

DateDayTeam 1Team 2
05 August, 2022FridayHeerenveenSparta Rotterdam
06 August, 2022SaturdayAjaxFortuna Sittard
06 August, 2022SaturdayCambuurExcelsior
06 August, 2022SaturdayPSVFC Emmen
07 August, 2022SundayUtrechtRKC Waalwijk
07 August, 2022SundayGroningenFC Volendam
07 August, 2022SundayNECTwente
07 August, 2022SundayVitesseFeyenoord
07 August, 2022SundayAZ AlkmaarGo Ahead Eagles


In this article, I have written a brief history of Eredivisie (the 7th best league in Europe), having completed multiple seasons. Moreover, the most victorious team & number of clubs in the league are discussed in it. The article also covers the facts file, schedule, fixtures, dates & venues of the 2022/23 Eredivisie.