FIFA World Cup Winners List 1930 to 2018

FIFA World Cup Winners List 1930 to 2018

FIFA is a football competition held between national teams every four years. The FIFA World Cup was founded 92 years ago in Rue Saint Honoré, Paris, France & it is watched worldwide with excitement. FIFA’s current format carries a qualification phase in which 32 teams are selected out of 79 in the preceding three years. 

FIFA World Cup Winners List 1930 to 2018

Which national football teams have won the FIFA trophy?

Twenty-one tournaments of FIFA have taken place &

8 national teams have won the trophy since 1930. Brazil’s football sports club has won the championship 5 times while Italy & Germany have 4. Uruguay, Argentina & France have won 2 titles each while Spain & England lifted the trophy once. 

Who is the president of FIFA?

Gianni Infantino has been the president of the Fédération Internationale de Football Association since the 2016 FIFA Extraordinary Congress.

Which countries have hosted the FIFA World Cup?

Several nations have hosted tournaments since 1930, including Mexico, Germany, Italy, Brazil, France, Sweden, England, Spain, Chile, Switzerland, Uruguay, Russia, Japan, the United States, South Africa & South America. The next venue for the 2023 FIFA World Cup will be Qatar. 

Which is the most successful team of FIFA up till now?

Brazil is the most successful team carrying 5 cups out of 21.

Which country is the current champion of the FIFA World Cup?

France is the current champion of the FIFA World Cup 2018 in Russia. 

Why were the 1942 and 1946 World Cups not organized?

These two World Cups didn’t organize due to World War II.


International football competitions started in 1904 between different teams. FIFA was officially launched in 1924, and its 1st tournament was held in July 1930 (Switzerland). 

At the beginning of the event (1932-1978), sixteen teams took part in the tournament, then no change to twenty-four (1982-1994). The tournament further expanded to 32 teams from 1998 to now. 

As far as FIFA World Cup trophies are concerned, the Winning team received Jules Rimet Trophy from 1930 to 1970. Then over the years, the trophy was named as FIFA World Cup Trophy & design was also changed from the previous one. Trophies were given to the top 3 teams, a gold-plated trophy to the winner team, while runners-up carried a silver-coated trophy, & third-place received bronze. 


In this article, I have briefly described the history of the FIFA World Cup. I have also written the names of the countries that organized the FIFA tournaments & also about the champions list. 

FIFA World Cup Winners list From 1930 to 2018:

YearWinnersRunner-upThird PlaceFourth PlaceTotal TeamsHosting CountryMatchesAverage attendance
2022      –      –      –      –    32Qatar –     –
2018 FranceCroatiaBelgiumEngland    32Russia6447,371
2014GermanyArgentinaNetherlandsBrazil    32Brazil6453,592
2010SpainNetherlandsGermanyUruguay    32South Africa6449,670
2006ItalyFranceGermanyPortugal    32Germany6452,491
2002BrazilGermanyTurkeySouth Korea    32Japan, South Korea6442,269
1998FranceBrazilCroatiaNetherlands     32France6443,517
1994BrazilItalySwedenBulgaria     24U.S5268,991
1990West GermanyArgentinaItalyEngland     24Italy5248,389
1986ArgentinaWest GermanyFranceBelgium     24Mexico5246,039
1982ItalyWest GermanyPolandFrance     24Spain5240,572
1978ArgentinaNetherlandsBrazilItaly     16Argentina3840,679
1974West GermanyNetherlandsPolandBrazil     16West Germany3849,099
1970BrazilItalyWest GermanyUruguay     16Mexico3250,124
1966EnglandWest GermanyPortugalSoviet Union     16England3248,848
1962BrazilCzechoslovakiaChileYugoslavia     16Chile3227,912
1958BrazilSwedenFranceWest Germany     16Sweden3523,423
1954West GermanyHungaryAustriaUruguay     16Switzerland2629,562
1950UruguayBrazilSwedenSpain     13Brazil2247,511
1938ItalyHungaryBrazilSweden     15France1820,872
1934ItalyCzechoslovakiaGermanyAustria     16Italy1721,353
1930UruguayArgentinaUnited States Yugoslavia     13Uruguay